25 while 25: take a vacation to a big city

Back at the end of May, I happily volunteered to move my best friend Brandon back to Rochester from Boston for his summer internship.  Primarily because it ticked off another one of my 25 while 25.

Jess and I headed out over memorial day weekend and even though we both had been to Boston before we got to check out some stuff we never got to before.  Brandon was working on a law paper and Jesse went to go work at the local Apple store for a new perspective so it left me some relaxation time, because after all it was my first vacation since November.

Jess and I got some touristy stuff in at Faneuil Hall, saw some street performers and did some window shopping.  I was surprisingly warm for Boston in May so we welcomed the warmth rather than the rain of Rochester.

We ate a lot of good surprisingly gluten-free food.  You know Jess is a happy guy when there are a lot of gluten-free options for him to choose from.  My favorite was the BeeHive.  The lot of us went there for Saturday brunch, and let me tell you it was the best french toast I have ever had. of course it was crazy expensive but I loved it.  Nothing like a clandestine non-tourist affair. 

We spent the rest of that day stumbling around Boston making stops at Cafeteria for some sangria, then to Harpoon for the brewery tour, and finally Max Bernner’s for some chocolate infused food and cocktails.

Our last day before we headed out Jesse and I made a trip to Ikea which for us is a down right luxury.  We managed to find the perfect dresser and night stands to match. I know its “cheap” furniture but there really isnt an affordable modern option in Rochester.

All in all it was a great trip and I always enjoy my time in Boston and I cant wait to make it back.

Leave a Reply

